Watertown-Mayer School Board minutes 4/24/23

Regular Meeting
April 24, 2023
I. The regular meeting of the Watertown-Mayer School Board in the Watertown City Hall on Monday, April 24, 2023 was called to order at 6:05 PM by Chair Hunter Feldt. Board members present: Feldt, Burns, Schultz, Danielson, Guetzkow, and Neaton. Board members absent: Onell. Administrative team members present: Superintendent Schuler, HS Principal Hennen, MS Principal Guertin, ES Principal O’Connell, SPED Director Gronseth, CE Director Dimmler, Director of Teaching & Learning Vieau, and Activities Director Szymanski. Absent: None.
II. Visitor requests and consideration of the agenda. Visitor MMS (Motion made
and Seconded by) Danielson and Neaton to approve the agenda as presented.
Passes 6-0.
III. Consent Agenda
MMS Burns and Guetzkow to approve the following consent agenda items:
Regular Board Meeting of March 20, 2023; Personnel Consent Agenda; Business Consent Agenda. Passes 6-0.
IV. Recognitions/ Presentations/ Showcase:
-Activities Director Szymanski introduced Mercedes Burmeister as the Athena Award
Recipient for 2023.
-Mr. Hennen introduced the WM Robotics team advised by Jeremy Bosquez. Four current robotics participants gave a program overview of their program including a demonstration of their robot. The WM Robotics group has qualified for state competition on May 6th.
-Finance Director, Lisa Raiter, presented to the board the COVID Funding Review for FY 23 which includes the COVID funds received, spending of the funds, and update on the abatement bond process, and legislative updates that might affect funding.
V. Action Items -
A. MMS Feldt and Schulz to approve Resolution 23.02 reducing education programs and positions including 1.0 FTE MS teacher and 1.0 FTE HS teacher. Roll call vote: Ayes – Guetzkow, Neaton, Danielson, Schulz, Burns, Feldt. Nays – None. Passes 6-0.
B. MMS Burns and Neaton to approve Resolution 23.03 relating to the termination and nonrenewal of teaching staff: Dakota Streifel, Craig Schaefer, Stacy Palmer, and Monica Goodrum. Roll call vote: Ayes- Guetzkow, Neaton, Danielson, Schulz, Burns, Feldt. Nays – None. Passes 6-0.
C. MMS Danielson and Feldt to approve donations, contributions, and Fundraising. Passes 6-0.
D. MMS Burns and Feldt to approve the Watertown-Mayer Athletic/ Activity Fee Schedule for 2023-2024. Passes 6-0.
E. MMS Danielson and Guetzkow to approve the Watertown-Mayer 2028 Strategic Plan. This is the new strategic plan that will begin for the 2023 school year starting July 1, 2023 and ending June 30, 2028. Passes 6-0.
VI. Review/ Information Items -
A. ICS Representative Chris Rear gave updates to projects across the district.
B. Chair Feldt presented to the board the request to negotiate by Education Minnesota representing Education Support Professionals.
VII. Administrative Reports -
HS Principal Hennen, MS Principal Guertin, ES Principal O’Connell, CE Director Dimmler, Teaching & Learning Director Vieau, SPED Director Gronseth, and Superintendent Schuler all gave verbal reports.
VIII. Board Member Reports or open comments by School Board Directors -
Treasurer Erika Schulz gave a verbal report regarding a recent SW Metro meeting she attended.
IX. MMS by Guetzkow and Danielson to adjourn for a closed meeting for purposes of
Contract Negotiations at 7:54 PM and is duly passed.
X. MMS by Neaton and Feldt to open a closed session for purposes of contract negotiation strategies at 8:03 PM.
MMS by Burns and Schulz to close the session at 8:51 PM and is duly passed.
**NOTE: These published meeting minutes are only a summary. Full text is available for public inspection at the Watertown-Mayer District Offices or via the Watertown-Mayer School website: https://www.wm.k12.mn.us/Page/93.
Published in the Herald Journal, June 2, 2023. |

Comments are closed.