Saints’ Flick, Lindquist drafted by Kernels; Zweibohmer goes to Maple Lake

After making their first state tournament in franchise history, the Cokato Kernels dipped into the community home cooking by drafting two DC Saints pitchers to their roster for the state tourney.

All teams making the state tournament are allowed to draft three pitchers from region teams that did not make the playoffs.

The draft order goes by order of region finish, in this case 1. Hutchinson, 2. Cokato, 3. Howard Lake, and 4. Maple Lake.

After Hutchinson selected Delano’s Hunter Hart with the first pick of the draft, the Kernels selected Delano pitcher Tyler Wolfe with the second pick.

“Tyler is without question the best all-around player in the league,” said Cokato manager Nick Corbin. “He’s not primarily a pitcher, and hasn’t pitched much since high school, but he throws extremely hard and should be able to be effective in short relief or the closer roll.”

With their second pick, the Kernels turned to a pitcher they know very well – the DC Saints’ Jordan Flick.

“I was pleasantly surprised Jordan was still available for our second pick,” said Corbin. “Jordan’s a top pitcher in the league, and has had very good success in the state tournament as a draftee for other teams.”

With their third pick, Cokato selected Saints pitcher Ben Lindquist, a young, hard-throwing righthander.

“This is only Ben’s second year in the league, so not everyone has had a chance to face him yet,” said Corbin. “He’s very hard to hit, and has had good success at the college level last year as a closer for Century College. He won’t be afraid to attack hitters in big spots.

“I’m hoping we can make a nice run in the tourney and get a chance to use all three of these guys,” Corbin said.

The Saints’ Tyler Zweibohmer was also chosen in the Region 12C draft. “Z” was chosen third by Maple Lake.

Below is the list of Region 12C draft picks.


• Hunter Hart, Delano

• Judson McKown, Maple Plain

• Toby Hanson, Delano



• Tyler Wolfe, Delano

• Jordan Flick, DC Saints

• Ben Lindquist, DC Saints


Howard Lake

• Matt Arens, Delano

• Jon Euerle, Buffalo

• Joey Hyde, Litchfield


Maple Lake

• Jeremy Maschino, Delano

• Colton Petron, Loretto

• Tyler Zweibohmer, DC

Comments are closed.