Archive for Schools

Lester Prairie School Sept. 8

Lester Prairie School Bulletin

Sept. 8, 2020

Today’s Menu: Hot Dog on Bun or Turkey Sandwich, Carrot Sticks, Pears, Milk

Tomorrow’s Menu: Chicken Patty on a Bun or Roast Beef Sandwich, Lettuce Salad, Apple Sauce, Milk

Important Notes and Reminders:

Maroon band students-Please stop up outside the music room and grab your binders/bags so you are ready for band at home tomorrow.

New principal begins at Holy Trinity

Holy Trinity School announced that Anthony Biese is the new principal. He has more than 20 years of teaching and administrative experience in Catholic schools, including, serving for the past six years as headmaster of St. Joseph’s Academy, a pre-kindergarten through 12 grade Catholic school in San Diego, CA.


HLWW and LP Schools weigh in on plans to handle visitors safely

One of the many details school administrations need to iron out is how to deal with people who wish to visit at school, or utilize the buildings for non-school purposes. Both HLWW and Lester Prairie are finalizing the plans for accommodating parents, visitors, vendors, external groups, etc. as the school year is about to begin.


Local students selected to University of Minnesota – Twin Cities dean’s list

MINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL, MN – The following students have been named to the 2020 spring semester Dean’s List at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. To qualify for the Dean’s List, a student must complete 12 or more letter-graded credits while attaining a 3.66 grade point average.


Cokato, MN
John Busche, Senior, Carlson School of Management
Ryan Chvojicek, Senior, Carlson School of Management
Sophia Fitzpatrick, Senior, College of Sci and Engineering
Grant Johnson, Junior, College of Food, Agr & Nat Res Sci
Darwin, MN
Izabella Maher, Sophomore, College of Biological Sciences
Makayla Maher, Junior, College of Biological Sciences
Dassel, MN
Dannalee Johnson, Junior, School of Dentistry
Howard Lake, MN
Naomi Hinojos, Sophomore, College of Liberal Arts
Stephanie Peller, Senior, College of Food, Agr & Nat Res Sci
Gerrick Prine, Sophomore, College of Design
Olivia Silvernail, Junior, College of Educ/Human Development
Lester Prairie, MN
Andrew Jackson, Junior, Carlson School of Management
Abbigayle Schultz, Senior, School of Nursing
Mayer, MN
Kiron Crayton, Sophomore, College of Biological Sciences
Gregory Jansen, Sophomore, College of Liberal Arts
Casondra Snow, Non Degree, College of Contin & Prof Studies
Brady Solheid, Sophomore, College of Educ/Human Development
Watertown, MN
Charles Chadwick, Junior, College of Liberal Arts
Madyson Hoese, Junior, College of Food, Agr & Nat Res Sci
Alexa Lupino, Junior, College of Biological Sciences


HLWW FFA stays busy this summer

HOWARD LAKE-WAVERLY-WINSTED – HLWW FFA students are staying busy this summer baking, making jam, and packing baskets for their CSA program; working in their garden; and building fences to help out local communities.  The group also built several retaining walls, including one at the Wright County Fairgrounds. Students also plan to do some canning when produce is in season.

The CSA program has been popular with local patrons.  Those who purchase CSA shares  receive produce from the one acre garden that the students work each summer. Members receive a basket filled with produce, baked goods, and local community donations on a weekly or every-other-weekly basis.

This week, FFA students are harvesting beans and broccoli for CSA customers.

HLWW seeking new school board member

The Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted (HLWW) Board of Education is seeking a new member, to replace Lacy Detlefsen, who has moved out of the district.

The term for this vacancy will run from August until December 2020 – five months.

As per the recommendation of the Minnesota School Board Association, the HLWW School Board is looking to appoint a candidate to the position.

Anyone interested in filling this vacancy should email either Michelle Heuer (School Board Chair) at, or Marilyn Greeley (Superintendent Secretary) at, to apply.

The application is due by August 3, 2020, at the end of the business day, and may be submitted to Heuer or  Greeley.