Archive for Watertown

Pedestrian killed in Carver County

CARVER COUNTY, MN – A 20-year-old man was killed Thursday evening while walking in Young America Township, according to a press release from the Carver County Sheriff’s Office.

The sheriff’s office received the emergency call at 9:47 p.m. Oct. 11. When deputies arrived, they found that a pedestrian, a 20-year-old man from Norwood Young America, had been hit and killed by a pickup truck traveling south on County Road 31 near the intersection of 134th Street.

The driver, a 27-year-old man from Hamburg, stopped and called 9-1-1.

The Carver County Sheriff’s Office, the Hamburg Fire Department, the Norwood Young America Fire Department, and Ridgeview Ambulance Service responded to the scene.

The accident is under investigation by the Carver County Sheriff’s Office and the Minnesota State Patrol.

Coloring contest

WINSTED, HOWARD LAKE, LESTER PRAIRIE, WAVERLY, MAYER, NEW GERMANY, WATERTOWN, MN – Watch for an exciting Halloween coloring contest in the Friday, Oct. 19 issue of Herald Journal.

Winstock 2019 tickets now on sale PLUS lineup announcement coming soon!


TicketsHeaderTickets and camping for Winstock Country Music Festival 2019 are NOW ON SALE, with VIP tickets and campgrounds A, B, C, and D having sold out at this year’s event.

The early-bird deadline is March 15, 2019. Buy your tickets now to get the best price! Also, don’t forget to include camping so you and your friends get to have the full Winstock experience!



The full Winstock 2019 lineup announcement will be made at 7 a.m. on Monday, October 22! Stay tuned for all the details and big news.

New this year – Please visit our FAQ page on our website for answers to some of the most commonly asked questions about the festival. If you don’t find your answers there, please email or call 320.485.4287.

 More Information

For additional announcements, promotions, sponsor and ticket information, and everything Winstock, go to and sign up for Winstock Email news. Be sure to follow the festival on Twitter @WinstockMNFacebookInstagram, and Snapchat.

Coloring contest

Watch for an exciting Halloween coloring contest in the Friday, Oct. 19 issue of Herald Journal.

Fire prevention week is Oct. 8-13

National Fire Prevention Week is Oct. 8-13. Photos of local fire prevention events will run in the Oct. 19 issue of Herald Journal.

Funeral notice: Joseph P. Swartzer, Sr., 87, of Watertown

WATERTOWN, MN – Joseph Peter Swartzer, Sr., 87, of Watertown, passed away at home with family at his side Saturday, Sept. 15, 2018. Mass of Christian Burial will take place Thursday, Sept. 20 at 11 a.m. at St. Mary of Czestochowa Catholic Church in rural Delano. There will be visitation Wednesday, Sept. 19 from 4-8 p.m. at the church, with a 3:30 p.m. Knights of Columbus Rosary. Visitation will continue Thursday at the church, from 10 to 11 a.m., prior to the Mass. Interment with military honors will be in the church cemetery.