Boys basketball review: Chargers to graduate 6 seniors from 6-19 squad


Sports Editor

The Dassel-Cokato boys basketball team finished four victories better than last season.

In 2018-19, the Chargers ended the season 2-23.

This year, the team finished with a record of 6-19.

In the playoffs, DC received the #13 seed in the Section 5AA, which meant they traveled to Litchfield in the first round to battle the #4 Dragons.

Litchfield took a nine-point lead at halftime, 30-21. The Chargers drew as close as six points early in the second half, but Litchfield pulled away for a 58-41 victory to end the season for DC.

Among the highlights of the season, said DC head coach Dave Chvojicek, were big victories over New London-Spicer, Norwood Young America, and Kimball.

“All three were wins by convincing margins, and had multiple contributors,” he said.

Dassel-Cokato was a senior-laded squad this season, as five out of the top-six scorers were seniors: Sanders Asplin, Luke Woetzel, Solomon Jorgensen, Cade Ortquist, and Ethan Mayer.

Asplin was the undisputed leader on the floor. The lightning-quick guard was the only player to average in double figures this season, averaging 17 points per game, along with two assists and four rebounds per game.

For his efforts, Asplin was named to the Wright County Conference West All-Conference team.

Ortquist (6.4 ppg), Jorgensen (6.0), Woetzel (4.4), and Mayer 3.0) will also be big losses heading into next season, along with David Miller.

Jorgensen led the team in rebounds (6.9 rpg), with Woetzel finishing second (5.2).

Mayer, meanwhile, led the squad in assists.

“This year’s seniors were leaders in many ways,” said Chvojicek. “They led us on the court and off in both their performance and attitude.”

The Chargers will return five letterwinners for next season, including starting sophomore guard Eli Gillman (6.2 ppg, 2.5 rpg, 1.3 apg).

Ben Smock (2.3 ppg) and Gaige Webb (1.3 ppg) also return, along with role players Jacob Gnerer and Ethan Stertz.

“The group battled all the way to the end in spite of not getting the number of wins they desired,” said Chvojicek. “The servant leadership from our captains (Asplin, Mayer, and Woetzel), was outstanding.”


• Sanders Asplin

• Ethan Mayer

• Luke Woetzel

• Solomon Jorgensen

• Cade Ortquist

• David Miller

Letterwinners: all six seniors, as well as:

• Gaige Webb (JR)

• Ben Smock (JR)

• Jacob Gnerer (JR)

• Ethan Stertz (JR)

• Eli Gillman (SO)

Comments are closed.