Archive for Brad Salmen

DC volleyball earns #7 seed in Section 5AA

The DC volleyball team earned the #7 seed in Section 5AA. They will play the winner of #10 Providence Academy and #15 Blake on Friday, Sept. 29 at DC.

If they win, they will travel to Annandale Tuesday, Nov. 2. Annandale is the #2 seed in the Section.

The bracket can be found here:–5KpUzGvAtTrBDKUkDFXvvDutyeaVPa93RLwf0ztaKD5XJ6OykbW/pubhtml?gid=1667778773&single=true

Charger football caps undefeated regular season with win over New London-Spicer

COKATO – The DC Chargers football team finished off an undefeated regular season with a 41-7 victory over visiting New London-Spicer (3-5) Wednesday.

DC improved to 8-0. They are the first Chargers squad to finish undefeated in the regular season since 1996.

Eli Gillman had four touchdowns for the Chargers, with Keyton Johnson adding two.

DC, the top-ranked team in Class AAA according to MaxPreps, will now enter postseason play as either the #1 or #2 seed in Section 2AAA .

In the Week 7 Quality Results Formula (QRF) rankings, the Chargers were second in the section to Providence Academy. The Lions also finished the regular season undefeated, defeating SMB 13-7 Wednesday.

If the QRF results hold, DC will have the #2 seed in the section, and would face #7 seed Holy Family (0-8), who DC defeated 48-0 earlier this year in a weather-shortened game. That game would be at DC on Tuesday.

If DC takes the #1 seed, they would have a bye in the first round, and would be off until Saturday.

Check out the ED Sports Blog for the latest information, and look for a full recap in next week’s Enterprise Dispatch.

Charger boys dominate WCC West meet; 5 runners All-Conference

CORCORAN – The DC boys cross country team continued their incredible run in 2021 with a victory at the Wright Count Conference West Championships Tuesday, held at Shamrock Golf Course.

The Charger boys had all seven of their runners finish in the top-15 at the meet, an unprecedented feat. DC finished 21 points ahead of second-place Annandale.

Consider these individual finishes:

2. Soren Bortnem (10)

4. Charlie Bortnem (8)

5. Haydn Veith (12)

8. Soren Olsen (11)

12. Ryan Johnson (12)

13. Dylan Seaberg (11)

15. Nic Johnson (9)

The top-five finishers (both Bortnems, Veith, Olsen, and Johnson) all finished with All-Conference honors, the first time in DCHS history that five runners have achieved that feat in one season.

In addition, Seaberg and Johnson both were named All-Conference Honorable Mention as well.

The DC varsity girls finished fourth out of eight teams.

Kate Jenkins (7th place) and Emily Trocke (8th) both finished with All-Conference honors. Jenkins, a senior, added another accolade to a fine senior season, while for Trocke, an 8th grader, it was her first varsity race.

Check out Friday’s Enterprise Dispatch for a full recap.

DC Swim & Dive finishes 7th at Section True Team tournament

HUTCHINSON – The DC girls swim & dive team finished 7th out of 9 teams at the Section 3A True Team Championship at Hutchinson Saturday.

Amelia Travis and Madeline Hurley had the only individual top-10 finishes for the Chargers. Travis finished 8th in the 100 Fly, and 9th in the 200 Free, while Hurley finished 9th in diving.

The 200 Free Relay team of Kaisa Salmen, Amy Kivisto, Lauren Mattila, and Travis also finished in the top-10, finishing 9th.

Check out Friday’s Enterprise Dispatch for a full recap.

Top-ranked Chargers defeat #9 Litchfield 20-6, improve to 7-0

LITCHFIELD – The Chargers managed to overcome some inopportune penalties and fumbles to defeat the Litchfield Dragons 20-6 Friday, and remain undefeated on the season.

Eli Gillman had two rushing touchdowns to bring his season total to 18 through seven games, while quarterback Greg Clark hooked up with Devan Nguyen for another score.

DC put the ball on the ground four times, but fortuitously recovered all four fumbles. They also had a season-high seven penalties.

Despite that, DC outgained Litchfield 320-199, as the defense played tremendously, giving up one long touchdown pass play, but shutting down the Dragons outside of that.

E. Gillman finished with 172 yards on 30 carries. Monte Gillman had 60 yards on 14 carries.

Clark went 3-for-4 for 79 yards through the air, hooking up with Keyton Johnson for a 40-yard completion, and two passes to Nguyen for 39 yards.

DC will now face New London-Spicer at home in the final game of the regular season Wednesday.

Charger volleyball defeats Wildcats in final regular season match

COKATO – The Charger volleyball team ended the 2021 regular season with a five-set thrilling “Senior Night” victory over visiting New London-Spicer Thursday, Oct. 20.

DC started the match in ignominious fashion, falling behind 9-2 before head coach Linda Resop called a time out.

The team rebounded to eventually pull out a 25-23 first-set victory, and followed it up with another tight win in set two, by the same 25-23 score.

The Wildcats turned the tables in set three, winning handily 25-16, and then pulled off an extra-point 26-24 victory in set four to tie the match 2-2.

But the Chargers were able to overcome the NLS momentum with a 15-12 win the fifth and deciding set.

Check out Friday’s Enterprise Dispatch for a full recap.